healing haven

April 30, 2016

Zentangles Mardi Gras shoes

Recently I had the opportunity to tangle some shoes for a friend who is part of the ‘Muses’ Mardi Gras crew.  They hand out (not throw) decorated shoes rather than beads.  I finished doing 6 shoes for her.

2016-2-2 Margi Gras shoes 4x6

The first shoe I did was a black heel using a gold metallic paint pen for the tangle design I planned following the contours of the shoe.  I also tangled on the heel itself.  Then I used gold paint on the inside and black with gold specks alphabet letters to adhere the word “Muses”.

11-2 shoe black heel front

11-2 shoe black heel heel

Then I did a light pink canvas shoe whereupon I followed the stitching to plot out my design.  A black Sharpie marker worked well on the outside.  I also painted the inside with black paint and used various colored Sharpies for decorating the patterned bottom of the shoe.  I later added black paint to the area of the bottom which is still gray in picture.  Again the word “Muses” is on the shoe.

10-25 pink shoe side

10-25-pink shoe Stitched

I followed much the same process for the tan heel and the blue canvas shoe.

Finally, I was fortunate to tangle one of my partner’s baby shoes which she had just found.  A black Sharpie worked beautifully on both the shoe and the shoelace after being washed.

12-27 baby shoe tangled front   12-27 baby shoe tangled side inner

Making these shoes for the Mardi Gras Parade was a new and intriguing project for me.  I enjoyed the creativity and imagination needed to decide the pattern for each shoe so it flowed in a natural way with the actual physical design of the shoe.

I have used these pictures in both my Project Life album and for The Documented Life Project.  In addition, they are now a part of my partner’s memoirs.

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.