healing haven

January 7, 2014

Project Life Cards Booklet Gifts

One of the things I love about the Project Life cards (most of mine are from the various Becky Higgins collections) is the look and feel of them.  Each is colorful with either full pictures or partial with space for journaling and thick enough to feel like as card and handle continued touching.  I wanted to make something colorful and creative for my grandchildren and came up with these.

12-15-13  booklets for E,I,A

I took both 3×4 and 4×6 Project Life cards and punched holes to provide for the rings.  Many of the 3×4 cards I taped together to make a 4×6 with either washi tape (to add more color and design) or scotch tape (for a continuous look).   I then decorated many of the pages with stamps, stickers (of their favorite characters or interests), various embellishments.  The children could then write, draw, or further embellish the pages.

12-15-13  booklets inside

Also, little pockets are added in which strips of decorative paper and stickers can be inserted for them to play with or add to their booklets.  I also made pages out of individual papers I had on hand for added interest specific for that child.

Similar booklets could be made of any theme or color scheme for any occasion or person.  I spent quite a bit of time on these but really enjoyed it.  My Inner Child loved putting together the page combinations and embellishments for my grandchildren, using far more fun products than were available for me.

2 Comments »

  1. Oh Thalia! I would have loved these as a child! Colourful books of my very own. Special pages with secret pockets. I know this is the digital age, but some visual and tactile treasures and treats can never be replaced in the hearts and desires of children. Your grandchildren are lucky to have you.

    Heather Blakey made a journal of such a kind for me long ago and I still treasure it!

    Steph

    Comment by Stephanie — January 9, 2014 @ 3:57 pm |Reply

    • I, too, would have liked to have these to play with and decorate. I think my Inner Child is really enjoying all these various endeavors.

      Comment by thalia — January 9, 2014 @ 5:03 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

