healing haven

August 6, 2009

The Hestia Spiral

Filed under: healing,Hestia,hospice,memoir — by thalia @ 4:54 am
Tags: ,

 

Hestia has spiraled throughout my life

                First, having a mother who was a model Hestia

                there to listen to us when we came home from school every day

                there to cook and bake for everyday and for holidays

                there to sew my dance costumes and make peach jelly

                there, always there for us, my siblings and myself and my father.

 

My life spiraled on to marriage and children and Hestia was there

                She was part of me as I created a home using little money

                She was there as I cooked creatively fixing hamburger 89 ways

                She manifested as I sewed clothing and quilts and made crafts

                all because there was no money to do otherwise

                But in the process it all created a close, warm, loving family 

 

Even when we lived in a tent for 3 months Hestia was a part of my life

                As she displayed that same warm loving atmosphere camping

                in a 12 x 12 tent – 2 kids, husband and wife, German Shepherd

                All centered around the glowing fire in the evening

                telling stories and roasting marshmallows

 

We built a house – literally built it – putting in plumbing and electricity,

                wall boards and kitchen cabinets, bathtubs and toilets,

                painting and sanding, building a fireplace, climbing scaffolding carrying

                cement blocks up so my husband could erect the chimney

                All creating an environment of love and coziness as we gathered

                 around the fireplace and enjoyed the food feasts

                 even as we became vegetarians and I baked all my own bread,

                 it was all done with love

                as I listened to my children as they came home from school

                canned tomatoes and black raspberry jelly, froze green beans and corn

                 all from our garden and stored like money in the bank

 

Children grow and leave – and we decide to move and become self-sufficient

                growing more of our food, cutting all of our wood for the woodstove

                Sitting close to the woodstove since it was our only source of heat

                Digging through rock and clay in the Arkansas Ozarks to create gardens

                with overflowing abundance until the grasshoppers ate much

                Outhouse until well and running water available, shovel and woods before

Perhaps a bit too much Hestia

 

Divorce leads to a soulmate, a house with Bermuda grass to chop back, 

                to turn into a garden and now tomatoes, peppers, herbs and flowers

                needing to work to afford the house

               so it seems Hestia has gone for a bit

                even though I still cook but don’t bake all my bread,

                eat tofu and gluten but don’t make them anymore

 

But then I realize that my work in hospice

                   allows others to be Hestia and stay at home while we help

                   support their loved ones process – at home

                   Everyone wants to be at home

                  whether they are enjoying life and need a refuge

                 or are dying and want to be amongst familiar surroundings

                 with their loved ones and pets, where their comfort has been created.

 

So I not only have Hestia spiraling in my life,

                through listening, and supportive caring

                but my work allows others to have that same refuge

                and provides support to others so they can have the healing haven

As we all need Hestia in a world gone difficult and crazy.

5 Comments »

  1. This is amazing. I love spiraling through your life with you and how it shows all the changes that can happen. Beautiful writing!

    Comment by Sarah Joyce Bryant — August 8, 2009 @ 9:11 am |Reply

  2. I enjoyed the story. This is engaging work. I keep going back to it. To revel in it. Muse upon it. Good work!

    Comment by Stephanie — August 9, 2009 @ 9:11 pm |Reply

  3. i love the idea that at a certain point in your life you allowed others to take up Hestia’s work while you made it possible for them to do so. that is a wonderful gift. i love spirals.

    Comment by senua — August 14, 2009 @ 10:46 pm |Reply

  4. I love the spirals and the spins and the way things always turn out and turn round about so beautifully….
    thank you for the reminder and for sharing 🙂

    Comment by Raven — August 16, 2009 @ 9:20 pm |Reply

  5. Other Comments:
    1. You really are living the Hestia life. Beautiful.
    by Lori August 8, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    2. ah life is ineed a spiral always coming back to the creative ..
    by pearlz August 9, 2009 at 12:48 am

    3. I am in little doubt that the world has gone crazy and hence the hearth of Hestia becomes even more important. We all need some sane places to retreat to.
    by Heather Blakey August 9, 2009 at 6:51 am

    4. I love the title of this piece. As Lori said, you are living the Hestia life! Thank you for letting us into your personal world. I sometimes find it hard to be truly open. Thank you for showing me your bravery here.
    by Luna August 9, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    5. I like the way you trace Hestia through your life and remind us all that we need a calm, centering place in this crazy world gone mad. Thanks.
    by almurta August 9, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    6. Such a tender reflection, narration of a life lived with Hestia at its centre – I love the feel of this.
    by Jill August 10, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Comment by thalia — August 17, 2009 @ 1:26 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

